Due to the vast size of our great country, winning teams must travel, at their expense, to the closest “gateway” city if flying to Ottawa-Gatineau.  Gateway cities have been identified in each province in which a team will receive air travel to the nation’s capital.  These cities include:

  • British Columbia: Vancouver
  • Alberta: Calgary
  • Saskatchewan: Regina
  • Manitoba: Winnipeg
  • Ontario: none (travel by chartered bus)
  • Quebec: none  (travel by chartered bus)
  • Prince Edward Island: Charlottetown
  • New Brunswick: Moncton
  • Nova Scotia: Halifax
  • Newfoundland & Labrador: St. John’s
  • Yukon: Whitehorse
  • Northwest Territories: Yellowknife
  • Nunavut: Iqaluit

Should a winning team not be able to travel to a gateway city they may request financial assistance from the Ottawa International Hockey Festival to subsidize their trip to the Gateway City by email to [email protected] with an estimated amount and/or description of how the funds will be applied to travel to the Gateway city.

Submitting a request for assistance to travel to a Gateway city does not guarantee full or partial funding from the Ottawa International Hockey Festival.